SciFest STAR 2021 Finalists

Congratulations to all 2021 nominees, and to the three SciFest STAR finalists!

Randolph College SciFest has announced the finalists for its Science Teaching Award from Randolph (STAR), which honors a high school science teacher who has contributed significantly to the lives of their students and who exhibits excellence in the teaching of science.

They are:

  • Sarah Davis is Science Department Chair, and teaches Biology and Earth Science to 9th graders at Brookville High School. She has taught there since 2006. Comments from the nomination package included: “Sarah Davis is more than just a science teacher in Campbell County; she is a natural leader in science education”, and “in 15 years, I have not heard one student say a negative thing about Mrs. Davis.”
  • Rachel Pollock is a science teacher at Virginia Episcopal School, teaching physics and chemistry, and heading up the FTC Robotics Team. She has been at VES since 2016. Comments from her nomination package included: Dr. Pollock “sparks curiosity and a sincere love of science in her classroom, and she works tirelessly to support her students as they work toward their learning goals”, and “she is one the most intentional teachers at Virginia Episcopal School, teaching well beyond the content to help her students understand why the content matters.”
  • Erin Rierson teaches biology and ecology for all grades at Rustburg High School. She has taught there since 2003. Comments from her nomination package included: “Ms. Rierson embodies joy, passion, dedication, intelligence, compassion, and a love for teaching science”, and “Ms. Rierson also regularly collaborates with her colleagues in our district to provide the best instruction for students.”

The eventual winner will receive a stipend of $1,500, as well as an additional $1,000 as an unrestricted grant for her department. Nominees could be any full-time or part-time teacher working at a public or private high school in the City of Lynchburg and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Campbell, and Nelson.

The Scifest STAR awards ceremony will occur at the start of the keynote event on March 25 at 7:30 pm.